## I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

## **Executive Committee Resolution No. 184**

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio Frank F. Blas, Jr. <u>Edward J.B. Calvo</u> B. J.F. Cruz James V. Espaldon Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz, DPA Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio Dr. David L.G. Shimizu J. T. Won Pat, Ed. D.

Relative to observing May 15, 2008; as "Peace Officers' Memorial Day" and honoring those who have fallen in the line of duty, paying the ultimate sacrifice while protecting the people of Guam.

## 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I* 2 *MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN*:

WHEREAS, on May 15, 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed this day as "Peace Officers' Memorial Day" to honor and recognize members of the "Thin Blue Line"; and

1

1 WHEREAS, it is on this day that we join one another, on Guam and 2 across the nation, to pay tribute to the brave men and women who have 3 selflessly dedicated their lives to upholding the law, protecting our citizens 4 from criminal injustice, and ensuring that our communities are a safe place to 5 live; and

6 WHEREAS, law enforcement officers risk their lives every day by 7 answering the call of duty, as they dedicate themselves to upholding the law 8 in our society and they relentlessly demonstrate a willingness to help others 9 within our community; and

10 WHEREAS, as citizens of this community, we can help in the 11 prevention of crime by cooperating with law enforcement officers and 12 through volunteer programs, such as neighborhood watch partnerships, 13 civilian police reserves, homeland security from terrorism, and various public 14 safety events; and

15 WHEREAS, our island leaders continue to support law enforcement 16 entities and personnel by providing the necessary means essential to 17 protecting fellow officers and the island community; and

18 WHEREAS, on "Peace Officers' Memorial Day", our island is 19 encouraged to pay tribute to the men and women in law enforcement who 20 over the years sacrificed their lives and have fallen in the line of duty while 21 protecting our island residents; and

WHEREAS, may we honor and preserve the legacy set forth by these courageous men and women of law enforcement who gave their lives for justice and integrity, who stood as one against crime, and who gave the ultimate sacrifice to ensure the welfare of our island and our nation; now,
 therefore, be it

3 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na* 4 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 5 people of Guam, honor the men and women who gave their lives in the line of 6 duty by presenting the island's flags at half-staff; and be it further

**RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the
people of Guam, recognize May 15, 2008, as "Peace Officers' Memorial Day";
and be it further

**RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Executive 11 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption 12 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the families of 13 those who have sacrificed their lives in the line of duty: to Police Sergeant, 14 Frankie E. Smith; to Police Officer I, Francisco D. Taitague; to Police Officer I, 15 Juan M. Santos; to Police Officer I, Francisco A. Reyes; to Police Officer III, 16 Tomas M. Sablan; to Police Reserve Officer, Rudy C. Iglesias; to Police Reserve 17 Officer, Helen K. Lizama; to Police Officer I, Raymond S. Sanchez; to Police 18 19 Officer I, Manuel A. Aquino; to Police Lieutenant, Francisco G. Toves; to Police Officer I, Eddie A. Santos; to Conservation Officer, Francisco M. Isezaki; 20 to Drug Enforcement Administration Special Agent, Larry D. Wallace; to 21 22 Department of Corrections Officer, Douglas W. Mashburn; to United States Air Force Airman, Laurie Lucas; to United States Air Force Sergeant, Stacey E. 23 Levay; to the Guam Police Department; to the Antonio B. Won Pat Guam 24

- 1 International Airport Authority Police; to the Jose D. Leon Guerrere Port
- 2 Authority of Guam Police; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I
- 3 Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE  $2^{ND}$ DAY OF MAY 2008.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed. D. Speaker and Chairperson, Executive Committee

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Senator and Secretary of the Legislature